Press Release

16 February 2014

Stephen Lloyd memorial award open for entries

Today, the Stephen Lloyd Awards Committee invites entries to the Stephen Lloyd Awards, set up to honour the memory of the inspirational lawyer who died in August 2014.

The aim of the awards, reflecting Stephen Lloyd’s commitment to innovation in tackling social issues, is to encourage and support the development of new ideas and early stage projects that have real potential to achieve practical, sustainable social change.

The awards will harness expert pro bono support from specialists in the charity and social enterprise world, as well as finance from philanthropists and social investors. Awards will comprise significant pro bono commitment, plus funding of up to £20,000.

Ideas are welcome in many forms – perhaps a start-up enterprise, or an extension of an organisation’s existing work; a piece of lobbying work or a high profile campaign. The committee is particularly interested in ideas that aim to tackle social problems at a systemic level.

Details of the application process, as well as guidelines for applicants, are available here. Applications should be received between 16 February and 10 April 2015 and 2015 awards are expected to be made in July.

Phillip Kirkpatrick, a member of the awards committee and partner at Bates Wells Braithwaite, said: “Stephen was a social pioneer of the highest order and we are honoured to be able to continue his legacy through these awards.”

For more information visit:

Anyone wishing to support the awards should get in touch via:


Notes for Editors

Ideal projects for awards will:

  • Identify an inadequately met social need and an innovative means of meeting it, or

identify a distinctly better way of meeting a social need that is already being addressed in other ways

  • Be practical
  • Be scalable
  • Be sustainable
  • Be promoted by a person or organisation with the passion, commitment and personal organisation and ability to enable it to flourish
  • Be start up or early stage

The members of the Stephen Lloyd Awards Committee are: Jim Clifford, OBE; Sir Stuart Etherington; Philip Kirkpatrick; Michael Norton, OBE; Sir Nicholas Young.

Press Contacts:


Hannah Cambridge

[email protected]

+44 (0)20 8533 8893

Sarah Gilbert

[email protected]

+44 (0)20 8533 8893


Stephen Lloyd Awards

Karen Collins

10 Queen Street Place



Tel: 020 7551 7639


Email: [email protected]