We are continually faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as insoluble problems.  ~ John W Gardner



The aim of the awards, in line with Stephen’s own approach, is to help create success by finding and nurturing innovative ideas and projects that can lead to practical, sustainable social change. The awards committee is particularly interested in supporting ideas that address social problems at a systemic level.

The heart of the awards is the bringing together of experts that can deliver practical, free support to shortlisted candidates as well as award winners. In addition, funding of up to £20,000 will be made available to support award winners in developing their initiatives. At the shortlist stage the awards will make up to ten awards of up to £2,000 to assist candidates to further develop their ideas.

Ideas may come in many forms. They may be a new-start enterprise or an extension of an organisation’s existing work. They might be a discrete piece of lobbying work or a high profile campaign; the aim might be to change policy or legislation or to create a new legal form or financial structure, for example.

Who Can Apply?

Anyone or any organisation that has an innovative idea that seeks to address a problem systemically.

Applications Overview

To apply, please prepare a description of your work or idea of no more than two sides in length. We would like to understand what the innovation is and why it is needed, alongside evidence of need and an explanation of the impact you will have, if you are successful. We would also like to know about your track record, what you need for the idea to succeed and how you think the awards’ community may be able to assist you. In addition to the two-sider, you are welcome to provide one additional page of references and links to relevant supporting materials. Please note that while applications are welcome from anywhere in the world shortlisted candidates will be expected to be physically present at the Awards Final Event in London, UK.

While you are not bound to any particular presentation format, we like the “Situation, Complication, Solution” approach as it is succinct and structured. Click here for some basic guidance on this. Somewhere at the top of the first page (prior to presenting your ‘Situation, Complication, Solution’), please provide us with the following information:

  • Project or charity name along with its company or charity registration number (e.g. BWB Foundation: 115032)
  • A one line summary of the project and its intention
  • Website address, if available

We would like to learn a little more about the individual or team invested into the project. A one or two line background information on the team can be embedded somewhere within the two page application.

We also encourage you to make contact with the awards supporters, listed here, that you know and ask them for supporting statements. Where relevant, please include recent accounts and governing documents as attachments. Please don’t contact supporters unless you already have a relationship with them and they would be in a position to support your application. 

Application Acceptance Period

Applications should be received between 12th February and 6th April 2018. Send your applications to info@stephenlloydawards.org.

Assessment Process

The assessment process occurs in two stages. The first stage involves scoring the application on the following criteria:

  • Innovation
  • Systems change
  • Potential to benefit from Award’s wider network of partners
  • Direct impact
  • Clarity of idea
  • Evidence
  • Individual or team’s position to achieve social impact

The second stage involves shortlisting applicants for telephone interviews, based on scores resulting from the above criteria.

Selection for interview

Applicants will be informed in early May whether they have been shortlisted. Those that have been shortlisted will be invited for an interview.


We would expect around 15 applicants to proceed to interview. Interviews will be conducted over the phone on 9th and 10th May 2018 and are an opportunity for you to explain your idea in more depth, discuss your needs and enthuse the selection panel.

Development Phase

We expect the interview process to result in a shortlist of up to 10 candidates. The interviews will identify areas where the candidate may benefit from working up a full plan/application, conducting additional research, building a community of support, etc.

This phase will last eight weeks and, wherever possible, members of the awards community will be identified to support applicants over that period. We also welcome applicants’ supporters becoming involved during this development phase.

You will be informed within a few days after the interview whether you have been selected for the development phase.

We will also grant up to £2,000 per applicant during this phase, if you demonstrate the need. For example, we would support some travel and accommodation costs.


At the end of the development phase, you will present to the Awards network at an evening event. The audience votes and together decides the winner or winner of the awards. The event is currently scheduled for 27th June 2018.  It should be noted that if a project is shortlisted, candidates will be expected to be physically present at the Awards Final Event in London, UK in order to present their project to the Awards network.

Success depends on applicants convincing the attendees of the value and prospects of their idea or project.

The funding limit will generally be £20,000, although exceptions may be made. Funding may be provided as a grant, as a loan, or as a mix of grant and loan. Loans will be made only if affordable to the applicant.

Funding is subject to the approval by the trustees of the BWB Foundation who consider the recommendation of the Stephen Lloyd Awards Committee. If the project seeks to advance charitable purposes then the trustees will honour the decision of the selection panel.

Awards will be publicly announced, together with brief details of the aim of the project.

Even if you are not given an award, our aim is that the interview, development and presentation phases will help you to further your aims and bring you into contact with experts who may nevertheless support you.

Decisions Final

Decisions made by the awards committee, selection panel and the trustees of the BWB Charitable Incorporated Organisation in relation to the awards are final and not subject to appeal.

Who’s Who?

The awards committee is a committee of the board of the BWB Foundation which has delegated responsibility for the awards. of the committee members are Jim Clifford OBE, Philip Kirkpatrick, Patrick Nash, Michael Norton OBE and Sir Nicholas Young.

The awards committee is served by a secretariat led by Mona Rahman, who is supported by Ben Metz.

Selection panels will be made up of individuals drawn from the awards committee and the steering group.

Awards supporters are everyone who has committed support, financially or pro bono. You can find a list of awards supporters here.

BWB Foundation is the charity that manages the awards. The trustees are Peter Bennett, Stephanie Biden, Martin Bunch, Rosamund McCarthy, Patrick Nash, Philip Kirkpatrick and Evelyn Smith. Its charity number is 1150321.